Tuesday 10/18/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: Eric Clapton – 461 Ocean Boulevard (1974)

461 Ocean Boulevard is the second studio album by English musician Eric Clapton. The album was released in late July 1974 for RSO Records, shortly after the record company released the hit single “I Shot the Sheriff” in early July the same year. The album topped various international charts and sold more than two million copies.

The album was Clapton’s return to the recording studio after a three-year hiatus due to his heroin addiction. The title refers to the address on Ocean Boulevard in Golden Beach, Florida, where Clapton lived while recording the album. Upon completing the album, Clapton and RSO head Robert Stigwood recommended the house and Miami’s Criteria Studios to fellow RSO artists, the Bee Gees, who then moved in to write and record Main Course. The street address of the house was changed after the album’s release due to fans flocking to the property. The house has since been rebuilt and the street address restored.

  1. “Motherless Children” 4:55
  2. “Give Me Strength” 2:54
  3. “Willie and the Hand Jive” 3:31
  4. “Get Ready” 3:47
  5. “I Shot the Sheriff” 4:25
  6. “I Can’t Hold Out” 4:14
  7. “Please Be With Me” 3:26
  8. “Let It Grow” 5:00
  9. “Steady Rollin’ Man” 3:14
  10. “Mainline Florida” 4:09
  11. “Walkin’ Down the Road (Session Out-Take)” 5:17
  12. “Ain’t That Loving You (Session Out-Take)” 5:30
  13. Meet Me (Down at the Bottom) (Session Out-Take)” 6:59
  14. “Eric After Hours Blues (Session Out-Take)” 4:23
  15. “B Minor Jam (Session Out-Take)” 7:11

Eric Clapton – lead vocals, guitars, Dobro
George Terry – guitars, backing vocals
Albhy Galuten – piano (A1, A5, B3, B4, B5), electric piano (A4), ARP synthesizer (B3), clavichord (B4)
Dick Sims – keyboards
Carl Radle – bass
Jamie Oldaker – drums, percussion
Al Jackson Jr. – drums (A2)
Yvonne Elliman – backing vocals
Tom Bernfield – backing vocals