Friday 10/7/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: Al Stewart – Time Passages (1978)

Time Passages is the eighth studio album by Al Stewart, released in September 1978. It is the follow-up to his 1976 album Year of the Cat. The album, like 1975’s Modern Times and 1976’s Year of the Cat, was once again produced by Alan Parsons. The album’s title track (which, when edited, reached #7 on the Billboard charts) and “End of the Day” were both co-written by Peter White. The title track also reached #1 on the Billboard Adult Contemporary charts for 10 weeks.

“Time Passages” 6:41
“Valentina Way” 4:04
“Life in Dark Water” 5:49
“A Man for All Seasons” 5:50
“Almost Lucy” 3:43
“The Palace of Versailles” 5:20
“Timeless Skies” 3:34
“Song on the Radio” 6:22
“End of the Day” 3:11

Al Stewart – guitars, keyboards, vocals
Peter White – guitars, lead guitar (tracks 1, 2 and 9), keyboards, accordion
J. Peter Robinson – grand piano, organ on “Valentina Way”
Peter Solley – synthesizer on “Palace of Versailles”
Peter Wood – keyboards, organ, piano
Tim Renwick – electric guitar, lead guitar (tracks 3, 4, 5 and 6)
Robin Lamble – bass guitar
Mark Goldenberg – rhythm guitar on “Valentina Way”
Phil Kenzie – alto saxophone on tracks 1 and 8
Stuart Elliott – drums (except track 2)
Jeff Porcaro – drums on “Valentina Way”
Al Perkins – pedal steel guitar
Bill Linnane – guitar
Art Tripp lll, Lindsay Elliott – percussion
Brian Huddy, Joe Puerta, David Pack, James R. West, Krysia Kristianne, Jeff Borgeson – backing vocals
Andrew Powell – string arrangements