Friday 9/30/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: Robert Plant – Pictures At Eleven (1982)

Pictures at Eleven is the debut solo album by former Led Zeppelin singer Robert Plant, released on June 25, 1982. Genesis drummer Phil Collins played drums for five of the album’s eight songs. Ex-Rainbow drummer Cozy Powell handled drums on “Slow Dancer” and “Like I’ve Never Been Gone.” On the song “Fat Lip”, guitarist Robbie Blunt played a TR-808 drum machine. The title was an often-heard phrase in U.S. television news that would follow a brief announcement of a story of interest to be shown later during a station’s 11 PM news program. Pictures at Eleven is the only one of Plant’s solo albums to appear on Led Zeppelin’s record label Swan Song. By the time of Plant’s next release, 1983’s The Principle of Moments, Swan Song had ceased to function, and Plant had started his own label named Es Paranza, which would also be distributed by Atlantic Records.

  1. “Burning Down One Side” 3:55
  2. “Moonlight in Samosa” 3:58
  3. “Pledge Pin” 4:01
  4. “Slow Dancer” 7:43
  5. “Worse Than Detroit” 5:55
  6. “Fat Lip” 5:05
  7. “Like I’ve Never Been Gone” 5:56
  8. “Mystery Title” 5:16
  9. “Far Post” 4:42

Robert Plant – vocals
Robbie Blunt – guitars, TR-808 on track 6
Jezz Woodroffe – keyboards, synthesizers,
Phil Collins – drums on tracks 1-3, 5, 8, all bonus tracks
Cozy Powell – drums on tracks 4 and 7
Paul Martinez – bass guitar
Raphael Ravenscroft – saxophone on track 3