Thursday 9/22/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: Pete Townshend – White City: A Novel (1985)

White City: A Novel is the fourth solo studio album by English rock musician Pete Townshend, released on November 11, 1985 by Atco Records. Chris Thomas produced the album (who had also produced Townshend’s previous two albums, Empty Glass and All the Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes) and it was recorded by Bill Price at three separate recording studios in London, England, which were both of the Eel Pie studios, and A.I.R.

The album peaked at No. 70 on the UK Albums Chart, and at No. 26 on the US Billboard 200. The album also reached the Top 20 in five other countries, Australia, Germany, New Zealand, Sweden and Switzerland.

1. “Give Blood” 5:44
2. “Brilliant Blues” 3:06
3. “Face the Face” 5:51
4. “Hiding Out” 3:00
5. “Secondhand Love” 4:12
6. “Crashing by Design” 3:14
7. “I Am Secure” 4:00
8. “White City Fighting” 4:40
9. “Come to Mama” 4:40

Pete Townshend – vocals; guitar
John “Rabbit” Bundrick – keyboards
Tony Butler – bass guitar
Phil Chen – bass guitar
Chucho Merchan – bass guitar
Pino Palladino – bass guitar
Steve Barnacle – bass guitar
Mark Brzezicki – drums
Simon Phillips – drums
Clem Burke – drums
David Gilmour – guitar (tracks 1, 8)
Peter Hope-Evans – harmonica
Kick Horns: Simon Clarke, Roddy Lorimer, Tim Sanders, Peter Thoms
Ewan Stewart – voice (spoken word)
Emma Townshend – backing vocals
Jackie Challenor – backing vocals
Mae McKenna – backing vocals
Lorenza Johnson – backing vocals
Justine Frischmann – backing vocals on “Night School”