Thursday 9/22/22 10am ET: Feature Artist / Feature LP: Bruce Springsteen – Greatest Hits (1995)

Bruce Frederick Joseph Springsteen (born September 23, 1949) is an American singer, songwriter, and musician. He has released 20 studio albums, most of which feature his backing band, the E Street Band. Originally from the Jersey Shore, he is one of the originators of the heartland rock style of music, combining mainstream rock musical style with narrative songs about working class American life. During a career that has spanned six decades, Springsteen has become known for his poetic, socially conscious lyrics and energetic stage performances, sometimes lasting up to four hours in duration. He has been nicknamed “The Boss”.

Greatest Hits is the first compilation album by American singer-songwriter Bruce Springsteen, released February 27, 1995, on Columbia Records. It is a collection of some of Springsteen’s hit singles and popular album tracks through the years along with four new songs at the end, mostly recorded with the E Street Band in 1995. The latter constituted Springsteen’s first (albeit very partial) release with his backing band since the late 1980s. Some of the songs are shorter versions of the original album releases.

The incorporation of the “new” tracks was portrayed in the 1996 documentary Blood Brothers. “Murder Incorporated” and “This Hard Land” were, in fact, unused 1982 songs from the Born in the U.S.A. sessions, with the latter being re-recorded here more than a decade later, and both subsequently became Springsteen concert staples. “Blood Brothers”, on the other hand, was played only as the final closing song of both the 1999–2000 Reunion Tour and 2002–2003 Rising Tour, both times with an extra verse added. “Secret Garden” achieved notoriety via the soundtrack of the 1996 film Jerry Maguire. Alternate versions of several of these new tracks were released on the 1996 Blood Brothers EP.

The compilation was commercially successful, hitting the peaks of the U.S. album chart and UK Album Chart and selling more than four million copies in the U.S.

  1. “Born to Run” 4:30
  2. “Thunder Road” 4:48
  3. “Badlands” 4:03
  4. “The River” 5:00
  5. “Hungry Heart” 3:20
  6. “Atlantic City” 3:56
  7. “Dancing in the Dark” 4:03
  8. “Born in the U.S.A.” 4:41
  9. “My Hometown” 4:12
  10. “Glory Days” 3:49
  11. “Brilliant Disguise” 4:15
  12. “Human Touch” 5:10
  13. “Better Days” 3:44
  14. “Streets of Philadelphia” (Single Edit) 3:16
  15. Secret Garden” 4:27
  16. “Murder Incorporated” 3:57
  17. “Blood Brothers” 4:34
  18. “This Hard Land” 4:50

Roy Bittan – piano, synthesizer
Clarence Clemons – saxophone (15–17), percussion
Danny Federici – organ, synthesizer, accordion
Bruce Springsteen – guitar, vocals (harmonica on “Thunder Road,” “This Hard Land,” and “Blood Brothers”)
Garry Tallent – bass guitar
Max Weinberg – drums
Steven Van Zandt – guitar on “Murder Incorporated,” mandolin on “This Hard Land”
Nils Lofgren – guitar (15, 17, 18)
Patti Scialfa – vocals on “Secret Garden”
backing vocals (“Murder Incorporated”) – all of the above except Nils Lofgren and Patti Scialfa
Frank Pagano – percussion on “Blood Brothers” and “This Hard Land”
Produced by: Bruce Springsteen, Jon Landau & Chuck Plotkin (and by Steven Van Zandt on “Murder Incorporated”)