Tuesday 9/21/22 1am ET: Feature Live LP: Bee Gees – One Night Only (1998)

One Night Only is a live album and DVD/Blu-ray by the Bee Gees. It features the group’s concert at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas November 14, 1997 and includes many of their greatest hits. Released September 7, 1998.

The CD is edited, with some songs omitted, though the DVD version of the concert is complete. The album was reissued in 1999, and included a bonus CD with the missing songs. The CD and DVD cover features the band replicating their iconic Saturday Night Fever pose. The concert was re-released on SD Blu-ray by Eagle Rock Entertainment in 2013. The re-release provides superior audio quality than what is possible on DVD, but video is only marginally improved (the standard-definition video is now up-scaled to 1080i).

The Bee Gees performed songs from every decade from the 1960s to the ’90s. They also sang a tribute song to their late brother Andy Gibb, “(Our Love) Don’t Throw It All Away”. During this song old footage of Andy is shown, including him singing the second verse of the song. The vocals from the original recording also play during that section. Céline Dion guest-starred on the Bee Gees-penned “Immortality”. Recorded vocals by Frankie Valli are featured during “Grease”, and are also taken from the original song.

The album’s title was originally meant to reflect the band’s plan that the Las Vegas concert would be their final live performance ever. Barry Gibb’s arthritis in his back had worsened to the point where it seemed it would be impossible for him to continue playing. He nonetheless wanted to expand the tour, so they played several more shows, holding one every two weeks so that Barry would be able to recover from his injury.

“Intro: You Should Be Dancing/Alone” 5:47
“Massachusetts” 2:32
“To Love Somebody” 3:10
“Words” 3:27
“Closer Than Close” 3:30
“Islands in the Stream” 3:47
“(Our Love) Don’t Throw It All Away” (featuring Andy Gibb) 3:52
“Night Fever/More Than a Woman” 3:26
“Lonely Days” 3:44
“New York Mining Disaster 1941” 2:15
“I Can’t See Nobody” 1:30
“And the Sun Will Shine” 1:54
“Nights on Broadway” 1:05
“How Can You Mend a Broken Heart” 3:27
“Heartbreaker” 1:05
“Guilty” 2:21
“Immortality” (featuring Celine Dion) 4:46
“Tragedy” 4:28
“I Started a Joke” 2:48
“Grease” (featuring Frankie Valli) 2:43
“Jive Talkin'” 4:19
“How Deep Is Your Love” 3:54
“Stayin’ Alive” 3:59
“You Should Be Dancing” 4:12

Barry Gibb – guitar, vocals
Robin Gibb – vocals
Maurice Gibb – keyboards, guitar, vocals
Alan Kendall – lead guitar
Stephen Gibb – lead and rhythm guitar
Ben Stivers – keyboards
Matt Bonelli – bass guitar
Steve Rucker – drums
John Merchant – off-stage keyboards, mix engineer
Celine Dion – vocals on “Immortality”
Andy Gibb – pre-recorded vocals on “Our Love (Don’t Throw It All Away)”
Frankie Valli – pre-recorded vocals on “Grease”