Wednesday 9/14/22 7pm ET: Feature LP: Rush – A Farewell To Kings (1977)

A Farewell to Kings is the fifth studio album by Canadian rock band Rush, released in September 1977 by Anthem Records. After touring their previous album 2112 (1976), which saw the group reach a new critical and commercial peak, they started work on a follow-up. They decided to record at Rockfield Studios in Wales, the first time Rush recorded an album outside of Toronto. The band expanded their sound with each member playing new instruments that he had not previously used, and recorded a mix of concise and long songs.

A Farewell to Kings reached No. 11 in Canada and helped the group to continue to expand its audience internationally, reaching inside the top-40 in the UK and the US for the first time. “Closer to the Heart” was released as the album’s first single, which reached No. 36 in the UK. Rush toured in support of the album from August 1977 to June 1978. The tour saw the band headline major venues across Canada and play in the UK.

  1. “A Farewell to Kings” 5:51
  2. “Xanadu” 11:05
  3. “Closer to the Heart” 2:54
  4. “Cinderella Man” 4:20
  5. “Madrigal” 2:35
  6. “Cygnus X-1 Book I: The Voyage” 10:25
    “Prologue” 5:01
    “1” 0:44
    “2” 1:30
    “3” 3:03

Geddy Lee – vocals, bass and twelve-string guitar, Minimoog, bass pedal synthesizers
Alex Lifeson – electric and acoustic six- and twelve-string guitars, classical guitar, bass pedal synthesizers
Neil Peart – drums, orchestra bells, wind chimes, bell tree, vibraslap, triangle, tubular bells, temple blocks
Terry Brown – spoken vocals on “Cygnus X-1 Book I: The Voyage”