Tuesday 9/6/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: Bob Dylan – Street Legal (1978)

Street-Legal is the 18th studio album by American singer-songwriter Bob Dylan, released on June 15, 1978, by Columbia Records. The album was a departure for Dylan, who assembled a large pop-rock band with female backing vocalists for its recording.

After receiving positive reviews on his previous album, Desire, Dylan was met with a more lukewarm critical reception for Street-Legal, though the album was still commercially successful, being certified as Gold in the US and Platinum in the UK. Many critics gave the album a more positive re-appraisal following its release in a remixed and remastered edition in 1999.

  1. “Changing of the Guards” 6:41
  2. “New Pony” :28
  3. “No Time to Think” 8:19
  4. “Baby, Stop Crying” 5:19
  5. “Is Your Love in Vain?” 4:30
  6. “Senor (Tales of Yankee Power)” 5:42
  7. “True Love Tends to Forget” 4:14
  8. “We Better Talk This Over” 4:04
  9. “Where Are You Tonight? (Journey Through Dark Heat)” 6:16

Bob Dylan – vocals, rhythm guitar
Steve Douglas – tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
David Mansfield – violin, mandolin
Alan Pasqua – keyboards
Billy Cross – electric guitar
Steven Soles – rhythm guitar, background vocals
Jerry Scheff – bass guitar
Ian Wallace – drums
Bobbye Hall – percussion
Carolyn Dennis, JoAnn Harris, Helena Springs – backing vocals
Steve Madaio – trumpet on “Is Your Love in Vain?”