Friday 9/2/22 10pm ET: Feature LP: ZZ Top – El Loco (1981)

El Loco is the seventh studio album by the American rock band ZZ Top, released July 20, 1981. The title means “The Crazy One” in Spanish. The band’s guitarist/singer Billy Gibbons has said that the recording of this album was the first time the three members of the band were isolated from one another in the studio, rather than recording simultaneously in the same room. It also foreshadowed ZZ Top’s synthesizer-driven direction later in the decade, with early experimentations in synthesizer backing on certain tracks.

  1. “Tube Snake Boogie” 3:02
  2. “I Wanna Drive You Home” 4:44
  3. “Ten Foot Pole” 4:19
  4. “Leila” 3:13
  5. “Don’t Tease Me” 4:19
  6. “It’s So Hard” 5:12
  7. “Pearl Necklace” 4:01
  8. “Groovy Little Hippie Pad” 2:40
  9. “Heaven, Hell or Houston” 2:31
  10. “Party on the Patio” 2:49

Billy Gibbons – guitar, vocals
Dusty Hill – bass, vocals
Frank Beard – drums, percussion