Wednesday 1am ET: Feature Live LP: Cheap Trick – At Budokan Complete Concert (1979)

Cheap Trick at Budokan is a live album released by Cheap Trick in 1978 and their best-selling recording. It was ranked number 426 in Rolling Stone magazine’s list of “the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.

In 2020, the album was selected by the Library of Congress for preservation in the National Recording Registry for being “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant”. In its official press release, the Library stated that, along with its success in the Japanese market, Cheap Trick at Budokan “proved to be the making of the band in their home country, as well as a loud and welcomed alternative to disco and soft rock and a decisive comeback for rock and roll.”. Allmusic critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine has also stated that with this album, “Cheap Trick unwittingly paved the way for much of the hard rock of the next decade, as well as a surprising amount of alternative rock of the 1990s.”

“Hello There”
“Come On, Come On”
“ELO Kiddies”
“Speak Now or Forever Hold Your Peace”
“Big Eyes”
“Look Out”
“Can’t Hold On”
“Oh Caroline”
“Auf Wiedersehen”
“Need Your Love”
“High Roller”
“Southern Girls”
“I Want You to Want Me”
“California Man”
“Ain’t That a Shame”
“Clock Strikes Ten”

Robin Zander – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Rick Nielsen – lead guitar, backing vocals
Tom Petersson – bass, backing vocals
Bun E. Carlos – drums

Cheap Trick – producers
Tomoo Suzuki – recording engineer
Jay Messina – Mixing engineer
Jack Douglas – mixing supervision
Gary Ladinsky, Mike Beiriger – master mix
Ken Adamany – production supervision
Kirk Dyer – road manager
Ken Harris – director of security
Mathew Perrin – production manager and lighting designer
John Muzzarelli – stage manager
Dave Wilmer – guitars and basses
Hal Sherburne – staging
David Lewis – sound technician
Lois Marino – publicist
Noriko Kobayashi – interpreter
Jeff Messenger – logistics (office)
Tokyo Sound – sound reinforcement
Koh Hasebe, Kenji Miura – photography
Masaru Kawahara – design