Friday 8/5/22 8pm ET: Feature LP: Mary Jane Girls – 20th Century Masters Millennium Collection (2001)

The Mary Jane Girls were an American girl group formed in 1983, best known for their songs “In My House”, “All Night Long”, “Candy Man”, and their cover version of “Walk Like a Man”. They were protégées of musician Rick James; and disbanded in 1987.

Joanne “Jojo” McDuffie was the lead singer, the others filling out the group’s style and appearance. On the studio recordings, McDuffie was backed by session vocalists rather than the other Mary Jane Girls. The group released two albums in the 1980s, and recorded a third – which was shelved for decades but finally released in 2014, as part of a larger retrospective of Rick James’ work.

The group was inducted into the Rhythm & Blues Music Hall of Fame in 2019.

Released January 1, 2001

  1. All Night Long 5:46
  2. Boys 5:46
  3. Candy Man 4:37
  4. Jealousy 3:39
  5. You Are My Heaven (Album Version) 3:19
  6. On The Inside (Album Version) 4:00
  7. In My House (12″ Version) 5:03
  8. Break It Up 4:22
  9. Wild And Crazy Love 5:49
  10. Shadow Lover (Album Version) 4:25
  11. Walk Like A Man (Single Version) 3:49

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.