Tuesday 8/2/22 8pm ET: Feature LP: Queen – A Day At The Races (1976)

A Day at the Races is the fifth studio album by the British rock band Queen, released on December 10, 1976 by EMI Records in the United Kingdom and by Elektra Records in the United States. Recorded at The Manor, Sarm East, and Wessex Sound Studios in England, it was the band’s first completely self-produced album, and the first completed without the involvement of producer Roy Thomas Baker; engineering duties were handled by Mike Stone. It serves as a companion to Queen’s previous album, A Night at the Opera, with both taking their names from Marx Brothers films and having similar packaging and eclectic musical themes.

The album reached the top of the charts in the UK, Japan, and the Netherlands. It reached number five on the US Billboard Top LPs & Tape chart and was Queen’s third album to ship gold in the US, subsequently reaching platinum status in the country. In 2006, a listener poll conducted by BBC Radio 2 saw A Day at the Races voted the 67th greatest album of all time.

  1. “Tie Your Mother Down” 4:48
  2. “You Take My Breath Away” 5:09
  3. “Long Away” 3:34
  4. “The Millionaire Waltz” 4:54
  5. “You and I” 3:25
  6. “Somebody to Love” 4:56
  7. “White Man” 4:59
  8. “Good Old-Fashioned Lover Boy” 2:54
  9. “Drowse” 3:45
  10. “Teo Torriatte (Let Us Cling Together)” 5:50

Freddie Mercury – lead vocals (1, 2, 4–8, 10), backing vocals (all but 9), gospel choir vocals (6), piano (2, 4–6, 8)
Brian May – electric guitar (all tracks), slide guitar (1, 9), guitar orchestration (1, 4, 10), harmonium (1, 10), piano (10), backing vocals (1, 3–8, 10), gospel choir vocals (6), lead vocals (3)
Roger Taylor – drums (all but 2), percussion (1, 2, 8, 10), timpani (9), rhythm electric guitar (9), backing vocals (all but 2), gospel choir vocals (6), lead vocals (9)
John Deacon – bass guitar (all tracks), acoustic guitar (5)
Mike Stone – additional background vocals (8)