Tuesday 7/19/22 9pm ET: Feature LP: Rush – Counterparts (1993)

Counterparts is the fifteenth studio album by Canadian rock band Rush, released October 19, 1993 on Anthem Records. After the band finished touring its previous album Roll the Bones (1991) in mid-1992, the members took a break before starting work on a follow-up.

Counterparts reached No. 2 in the United States, one of the band’s two highest-charting albums in the country, and No. 6 in Canada. The first single, “Stick It Out”, was No. 1 on the Billboard Album Rock Tracks chart for four weeks. In 1994, the instrumental “Leave That Thing Alone” was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance. Counterparts was remastered in 2004 and reissued in 2013 as part of The Studio Albums 1989–2007 box set. In 2015 it was reissued after being remastered by Sean Magee at Abbey Road Studios following a direct approach by Rush to remaster their entire back catalogue.

  1. “Animate” 6:04
  2. “Stick It Out” 4:30
  3. “Cut to the Chase” 4:48
  4. “Nobody’s Hero” 4:55
  5. “Between Sun and Moon” 4:37
  6. “Alien Shore” 5:47
  7. “The Speed of Love” 5:02
  8. “Double Agent” 4:52
  9. “Leave That Thing Alone” 4:05
  10. “Cold Fire” 4:27
  11. “Everyday Glory” 5:11

Geddy Lee – bass, vocals, synthesizer
Neil Peart – drums, cymbals, electronic percussion
Alex Lifeson – electric and acoustic guitars
John Webster – additional keyboards
Michael Kamen – orchestration and conducting on “Nobody’s Hero”