Monday 7/4/22 10pm ET: Feature LP: Def Leppard – On Through The Night (1980)

On Through the Night is the debut studio album by the English rock band Def Leppard, released on March 14, 1980. The album was produced by Tom Allom. It charted at No. 15 on the UK Albums Chart and No. 51 on the Billboard 200. The album features re-recorded versions of “Rocks Off” and “Overture”, tracks from the band’s original independently released EP, The Def Leppard E.P.. Other tracks are re-recorded versions of early demos, some of which later appeared on the 2020 box set The Early Years 79–81. The album was certified gold by the RIAA on November 18, 1983 and platinum on May 9, 1989.

“Wasted”, “Hello America” and “Rock Brigade” were released as singles. However, the version of “Wasted” that appears on the single is a different recording from that of the LP, as is its B-side, “Hello America”.

The spoken word intro to “When the Walls Came Tumbling Down” was performed by Dave Cousins of Strawbs. Joe Elliott had done the spoken portion in earlier live performances and demo recordings that showed up on some early bootlegs. In his biography, Cousins claims that he did his best Laurence Olivier impersonation for the song’s intro.

  1. “Rock Brigade” 3:09
  2. “Hello America” 3:27
  3. “Sorrow Is a Woman” 3:54
  4. “It Could Be You” 2:33
  5. “Satellite” 4:28
  6. “When the Walls Came Tumbling Down” 4:44
  7. “Wasted” 3:45
  8. “Rocks Off” 3:42
  9. “It Don’t Matter” 3:21
  10. “Answer to the Master” 3:13
  11. “Overture” 7:44

Joe Elliott – lead vocals, backing vocals
Steve Clark – lead and rhythm guitars, backing vocals
Pete Willis – lead and rhythm guitars, backing vocals
Rick Savage – bass guitar, backing vocals
Rick Allen – drums, backing vocals
Chris M. Hughes – synthesiser on “Hello America”
Dave Cousins – voice on “When the Walls Came Tumblin’ Down”