Sunday 7/3/22 3pm ET: Feature LP: Aerosmith – Permanent Vacation (1987)

Permanent Vacation is the ninth studio album by American rock band Aerosmith, released August 25, 1987 by Geffen Records.

The album marked a turning point in the band’s career. It was their first to employ songwriters outside the band, instead of featuring songs solely composed by them. This came at the suggestion of executive John Kalodner. He also pushed the band to work with producer Bruce Fairbairn, who remained with them for another two albums. It was also the first Aerosmith album to be promoted by heavy music video airplay on MTV. Though Done with Mirrors was intended to mark Aerosmith’s comeback, Permanent Vacation is often considered their true comeback, as it was the band’s first truly popular album since their reunion. “Rag Doll”, “Dude (Looks Like a Lady)”, and “Angel” became major hits (all three charted in the Top 20) and helped Permanent Vacation become the band’s greatest success in a decade.

The album features a cover of the Beatles’ “I’m Down”, which originally appeared as a B-side to their single “Help!” in 1965. This was Aerosmith’s second commercially released Beatles cover, after “Come Together”.

Permanent Vacation has sold over five million copies in the U.S.

In the UK, it was the first Aerosmith album to attain both Silver (60,000 units sold) and Gold (100,000 units sold) certification by the British Phonographic Industry, achieving these in July 1989 and March 1990 respectively.

  1. “Heart’s Done Time” 4:42
  2. “Magic Touch” 4:37
  3. “Rag Doll” 4:25
  4. “Simoriah” 3:22
  5. “Dude (Looks Like a Lady)” 4:25
  6. “St. John” 4:10
  7. “Hangman Jury” 5:33
  8. “Girl Keeps Coming Apart” 4:13
  9. “Angel” 5:08
  10. “Permanent Vacation” 4:49
  11. “I’m Down” 2:20
  12. “The Movie” 4:00

Steven Tyler – lead vocals, piano, harmonica, organ, plunger mute
Joe Perry – guitar: lead guitar (all except 10 & 12), lead and rhythm guitar on track 1, backing vocals, pedal steel guitar on “Rag Doll”
Brad Whitford – guitar: lead and rhythm guitar on track 1, lead guitar on tracks 8, 10 & 12
Tom Hamilton – bass guitar
Joey Kramer – drums
Drew Arnott – mellotron on “Angel” and “The Movie”
Tom Keenlyside – clarinet, tenor saxophone, horn arrangement on “Dude (Looks Like a Lady)” and “Rag Doll”
Ian Putz – baritone saxophone on “Dude (Looks Like a Lady)” and “Rag Doll”
Bob Rogers – trombone on “Dude (Looks Like a Lady)” and “Rag Doll”
Henry Christian – trumpet
Bruce Fairbairn – trumpet, cello, background vocals
Scott Fairbairn – cello
Mike Fraser – plunger mute
Morgan Rael – steel drums
Jim Vallance – organ on “Rag Doll” and “Simoriah”
Christine Arnott – backing vocals on “The Movie”