Thursday 6/30/22 8pm ET: Feature LP: Foster The People – Sacred Hearts Club (2017)

Sacred Hearts Club is the third studio album by American indie pop band Foster the People, released on July 21, 2017, through Columbia Records. The album was preceded by the extended play III, which is composed of three tracks from the album. Departing from the organic, acoustic sound of their previous 2014 album, it draws upon soul, dance, and electronic genres while maintaining their signature indie pop sound. The lyrics address themes of love, politics, fame, and youth, and, similar to their previous albums, are often at odds with the upbeat musical production. This is also their first studio album to feature long-time touring musicians Isom Innis and Sean Cimino as official members. It received primarily mixed reviews upon release, with many critics praising the experimentation while disliking the album’s lack of musical consistency. Despite the mixed reception, the album’s single “Sit Next to Me” has reached a peak of number 42 on the Billboard Hot 100 and sold over two million copies across North America.

1. “Pay the Man” 3:53
2. “Doing It for the Money” 3:46
3. “Sit Next to Me” 4:03
4. “SHC” 4:16
5. “I Love My Friends” 3:45
6. “Orange Dream” 1:20
7. “Static Space Lover” 4:00
8. “Lotus Eater” 3:02
9. “Time to Get Closer” 0:57
10. “Loyal Like Sid & Nancy” 4:40
11. “Harden the Paint” 3:54
12. “III” 4:09

Mark Foster – lead vocals, guitar, bass, drums, percussion, piano, programming, synthesizer, vibraphone, production
Mark Pontius – drums, percussion
Sean Cimino – guitar, piano, keyboards, backing vocals
Isom Innis – piano, keyboards, drums, bass, percussion, backing vocals, production

Austin Mensales – guitar
Derek “MixedByAli” Ali – mix engineering
Manny Marroquin – mix engineering
Chris Galland – mix engineering
Rich Costey – mix engineering
Martin Cooke – mix engineering
Nicolas Fournier – mix engineering
Jeff Jackson – engineering assistance
Robin Florent – engineering assistance
Cyrus “Nois” Taghipour – engineering assistance
Tyler Page – engineering assistance
Greg Calbi – master engineering
Steve Fallone – master engineering
Josh Abraham – production
Oliver Goldstein – production, drums
Lars Stalfors – production
Jena Malone – guest vocals (“Static Space Lover”)