Friday 6/17/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: REO Speedwagon – You Can Tune a Piano, but You Can’t Tuna Fish (1978)

You Can Tune a Piano, but You Can’t Tuna Fish is the seventh studio album by REO Speedwagon, released in 1978. It was their first album to be co-produced by lead singer Kevin Cronin and lead guitarist Gary Richrath. The album was REO’s first to make the Top 40, peaking at No. 29. The album sold over 2 million copies in the US, which led it to being certified 2× Platinum.

This is the first album to feature Bruce Hall on bass, replacing Gregg Philbin. In 2013, the album was released on CD by UK-based company Rock Candy Records, with expanded liner notes and photos.

The hits “Time for Me to Fly” and “Roll with the Changes” have since become two of the band’s best-known songs. “Time for Me to Fly” was later covered in a bluegrass arrangement by Dolly Parton on her 1989 album White Limozeen. In 2005, the album cover was featured on Pitchfork’s list of “The Worst Record Covers of All Time”, and in 2014 its title was featured in NME’s list of “The 50 Worst Album Titles in History”. In 2020, Netflix’s Ozark TV series third season episode, “Kevin Cronin Was Here” featured “Time For Me To Fly”, which resulted in the song making the top 40 on the Billboard Digital Songs Chart.

1. “Roll with the Changes” 5:37
2. “Time for Me to Fly” 3:42
3. “Runnin’ Blind” 3:08
4. “Blazin’ Your Own Trail Again” 3:32
5. “Sing to Me” 2:34
6. “Lucky for You” 5:02
7. “Do You Know Where Your Woman Is Tonight?” 2:53
8. “The Unidentified Flying Tuna Trot” 2:17
9. “Say You Love Me or Say Goodnight” 4:58

Kevin Cronin – lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar, piano (track 1)
Gary Richrath – lead and rhythm guitars
Neal Doughty – piano (except track 1), Hammond organ, Moog synthesizer
Bruce Hall – bass
Alan Gratzer – drums

Lon Price – saxophone (track 9)
Angelle Trosclair, Denise McCall, Denny Henson, Tom Kelly – backing vocals