Wednesday 5/18/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: Chicago – Chicago 19 (1988)

Chicago 19 is the sixteenth studio album by American rock band Chicago, released June 20, 1988. After recording Chicago 18 with David Foster, the band worked primarily with producers Ron Nevison and Chas Sandford for this album. Their Full Moon Records imprint moved to Reprise Records. This is the final album to feature the band’s original drummer Danny Seraphine, who was later dismissed from the group in 1990.

With a reception similar to its predecessor, Chicago 19 became a success on the album chart, going platinum and yielding hit singles. The album includes “Look Away” (No. 1), “I Don’t Wanna Live Without Your Love” (No. 3), and “You’re Not Alone” (No. 10). A slightly remixed version of Jason Scheff’s “What Kind of Man Would I Be?” (No. 5) would also be successful in late 1989, as part of the follow-up Greatest Hits 1982-1989 release. The album relied heavily on outside writers, continuing a trend from the previous album. The first two singles were written by Diane Warren, and the third by British-born songwriter Jimmy Scott.

After the tour for Chicago 19, original drummer Danny Seraphine was fired from the band for undisclosed reasons. Session drummer Tris Imboden then permanently joined the band, for the recording of Twenty 1.

  1. “Heart in Pieces” 5:04
  2. “I Don’t Wanna Live Without Your Love” 3:55
  3. “I Stand Up” 4:06
  4. “We Can Last Forever” 3:45
  5. “Come in from the Night” 4:43
  6. “Look Away” 4:02
  7. “What Kind of Man Would I Be?” 4:21
  8. “Runaround” 4:10
  9. “You’re Not Alone” 3:56
  10. “Victorious” 6:02

Bill Champlin – keyboards, lead and backing vocals
Robert Lamm – keyboards, lead and backing vocals
Lee Loughnane – trumpet, brass arrangements
James Pankow – trombone, brass arrangements
Walter Parazaider – saxophone
Jason Scheff – bass, lead and backing vocals
Danny Seraphine – drums, percussion, programming
Dawayne Bailey – guitar, backing vocals
Chas Sandford – guitars
Dann Huff – guitars
Phillip Ashley – keyboards
John Campbell – keyboards
Charles Judge – keyboards
Kiki Ebsen – programming and keyboards
Mike Murphy – programming, cowbell, drum technician
Peter Kaye – programming
Peter Maher – programming
Efrain Toro – drum programming
Paul Jamieson – drum technician
Tamara Champlin – additional backing vocals
Tim Feehan – additional backing vocals on “Heart In Pieces”