Sunday 5/1/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: Def Leppard – Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (1980 – 1995)

Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (1980–1995) is the first greatest hits album and the second compilation album by English hard rock band Def Leppard. The album was originally released in the band’s home country on 23 October 1995 by Mercury Records. It was released in North America a few days later on 31 October by the same label. Vault went on to be certified gold in four countries, platinum in three and multi-platinum in two. In the US, the album is currently certified 5× platinum by the RIAA, and in June 2011 it topped the five million mark in sales there. It won Metal Edge magazine’s 1995 Readers’ Choice Award for “Best Hits or Compilation Album.”

The collection’s track listing varied by region, although none of the releases had any songs from the band’s 1980 debut album, On Through the Night on the track listings.

On October 23, 1995, to promote the release of Vault, the band played acoustic shows on three continents in one day: Tangiers, Morocco in Africa, London, England, UK in Europe, and Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada in North America. The feat also made the Guinness Book of World Records.

  1. “Pour Some Sugar on Me 4:52
  2. “Photograph” 4:08
  3. “Love Bites” 5:47
  4. “Let’s Get Rocked” 4:56
  5. “Two Steps Behind” (acoustic version) 4:05
  6. “Foolin'” 4:34
  7. “Rocket” 4:07
  8. “When Love & Hate Collide” 4:18
  9. “Armageddon It” 5:22
  10. “Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad” 5:19
  11. “Rock of Ages” 4:02
  12. “Hysteria” 5:56
  13. “Miss You in a Heartbeat” (acoustic version) 4:05
  14. “Bringin’ On the Heartbreak” 4:32

Joe Elliott – lead vocals, backing vocals, producer, piano on “Miss You in a Heartbeat”
Steve Clark – guitars, backing vocals
Phil Collen – guitars, backing vocals, producer
Rick Savage – bass, backing vocals, producer
Rick Allen – drums, backing vocals, producer
Robert John “Mutt” Lange – producer, backing vocals
Nigel Green – engineer
Pete Willis – guitars, backing vocals
Mike Shipley – mixing, producer, engineer
Vivian Campbell – guitars, backing vocals, producer
Pete Woodroffe – producer, engineer, piano on “Miss You in a Heartbeat”
Michael Kamen – string arrangements on “Two Steps Behind” and “When Love & Hate Collide”
Stevie Vann – backing vocals on “When Love & Hate Collide”
Randy Kerber – piano on “When Love & Hate Collide”