Friday 4/19/22 10pm ET: Feature LP: Steely Dan – Can’t Buy A Thrill (1972)

Can’t Buy a Thrill is the debut studio album by the American rock band Steely Dan, released in November 1972 by ABC Records. The album was written by band members Donald Fagen and Walter Becker, recorded in August 1972 at The Village Recorder in Los Angeles, and produced by Gary Katz. Its music features tight song structure and sounds from soft rock, folk rock, and pop, alongside philosophical, elliptical lyrics.

The album was a commercial success, peaking at number 17 on the Billboard chart and eventually being certified platinum. It was also met with positive reviews and later appeared on many professional listings of the greatest albums, including Colin Larkin’s All Time Top 1000 Albums (2000) and Rolling Stone magazine’s “500 Greatest Albums of All Time” (2003).

  1. “Do It Again” 5:56
  2. “Dirty Work” 3:08
  3. “Kings” 3:45
  4. “Midnite Cruiser” 4:07
  5. “Only a Fool Would Say That” 2:57
  6. “Reelin’ In the Years” 4:37
  7. “Fire in the Hole” 3:28
  8. “Brooklyn (Owes the Charmer Under Me)” 4:21
  9. “Change of the Guard” 3:39
  10. “Turn That Heartbeat Over Again” 4:58

David Palmer – lead vocals on “Dirty Work” and “Brooklyn”, backing vocals
Donald Fagen – acoustic and electric pianos, plastic (YC-30) organ, lead vocals (except on “Dirty Work”, “Midnite Cruiser”, and “Brooklyn”), backing vocals
Jeff “Skunk” Baxter – guitar, pedal steel guitar, spoken word on “Only a Fool Would Say That”
Denny Dias – guitar, electric sitar
Walter Becker – electric bass, backing vocals
Jim Hodder – drums, percussion, lead vocal on “Midnite Cruiser”, backing vocals
Elliott Randall – lead guitar on “Kings” and “Reelin in the Years”
Jerome Richardson – tenor saxophone
Snooky Young – flugelhorn
Victor Feldman – percussion
Venetta Fields, Clydie King, Sherlie Matthews – backing vocals on “Brooklyn” and “Kings”