Thursday 4/12/22 7pm ET: Feature LP: Del Amitri – Fatal Mistakes (2021)

Fatal Mistakes is the seventh studio album by the Scottish band Del Amitri, released on May 28, 2021. It is the band’s first studio album since 2002’s Can You Do Me Good. It debuted at number five on the UK Albums Chart in the first week following its release.

Del Amitri reformed in 2014 after a ten year hiatus. Initially the band thought that fans did not want unreleased material, choosing to play only previously released songs during the 2014 tour. Singer Justin Currie was hesitant to release an album of new songs saying “we thought that’s probably not what anyone is going to want to listen to”.

By 2018, Currie and guitarist Iain Harvie had created finished songs that sounded “very Del Amitri”. The two reformed the band with the lineup featured on 2014’s live release Into the Mirror: Del Amitri in Concert, with keyboardist Andy Alston, guitarist Kris Dollimore and drummer Ash Soan.

Fatal Mistakes was recorded in March 2020 over a three-week period, with Del Amitri completing the sessions the day before the UK locked down due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“You Can’t Go Back” 2:53
“All Hail Blind Love” 4:04
“Musicians and Beer” 2:46
“Close Your Eyes and Think of England” 3:30
“Losing the Will to Die” 2:34
“Otherwise” 3:01
“It’s Feelings” 2:42
“I’m So Scared of Dying” 4:27
“Mockingbird, Copy Me Now” 2:23
“Missing Person” 3:19
“Second Staircase” 3:00
“Lonely” 3:28
“Nation of Caners” 7:39

Andy Alston
Justin Currie
Kris Dollimore
Iain Harvie
Ash Soan