Sunday 3/13/22 3pm ET: Feature LP: Doobie Brothers – The Captain and Me (1973)

The Captain and Me is the third studio album by American rock band The Doobie Brothers. The album was released on March 2, 1973, by Warner Bros. Records. It features some of their most popular hits including “Long Train Runnin'”, “China Grove” and “Without You”. The album is certified 2× Platinum by the RIAA.

  1. “Natural Thing” 3:17
  2. “Long Train Runnin'” 3:25
  3. “China Grove” 3:14
  4. “Dark Eyed Cajun Woman” 4:12
  5. “Clear as the Driven Snow” 5:18
  6. “Without You” 4:58
  7. “South City Midnight Lady” 5:27
  8. “Evil Woman” 3:17
  9. “Busted Down Around O’Connelly Corners” 0:48
  10. “Ukiah” 3:04
  11. “The Captain and Me” 4:53

Tom Johnston – acoustic and electric guitars, harmonica on “Long Train Runnin'”, ARP synthesizer, lead and backing vocals
Patrick Simmons – acoustic and electric guitars, ARP synthesizer, banjo on “The Captain and Me”, lead and backing vocals
Tiran Porter – bass, backing vocals
John Hartman – drums, percussion, backing vocals
Michael Hossack – drums, congas, timbales
Bill Payne – piano on “China Grove”, “South City Midnight Lady” and “Ukiah”, organ on “Without You”, electric piano on “Dark Eyed Cajun Woman”
Jeffrey ‘Skunk’ Baxter – pedal steel guitar on “South City Midnight Lady”
Ted Templeman – percussion, backing vocals on “Without You”[15]
Nick DeCaro – string arrangements on “Dark Eyed Cajun Woman”, “South City Midnight Lady” and “Evil Woman”
Malcolm Cecil, Robert Margouleff – ARP synthesizer programming on “Natural Thing”, “Clear as the Driven Snow”, “South City Midnight Lady” and “Ukiah”