Friday 3/4/22 10pm ET: Feature LP: Led Zeppelin – In Through The Out Door (1979)

In Through the Out Door is the eighth and final studio album by the English rock band Led Zeppelin. It was recorded in three weeks in November and December 1978 at ABBA’s Polar Studios in Stockholm, Sweden, and released by Swan Song Records on August 15, 1979. It was the last album released before drummer John Bonham died in 1980, leading the group to disband.

The album was a huge commercial success, particularly in the United States where it reached the No. 1 slot on Billboard’s chart in just its second week on the chart. It hit No. 1 in the UK, Canada and New Zealand, and the Top 10 or 15 in several other countries. In Through the Out Door was the band’s final studio release to reach the top of the charts in America.

A remastered version of In Through the Out Door, along with Presence and Coda were reissued on July 31, 2015. The reissue comes in six formats: a standard CD edition, a deluxe two-CD edition, a standard LP version, a deluxe two-LP version, a super deluxe two-CD plus two-LP version with a hardback book, and as high resolution 24-bit/96k digital downloads. The deluxe and super deluxe editions feature bonus material containing alternative takes and alternatively titled tracks, “Southbound Piano”, “The Epic”, “The Hook”, and “Blot”. The reissue was released with a black and white version of the original album’s artwork as its bonus disc’s cover. A replica of the brown bag and the colorable line drawing are included in this edition.

The reissue was met with generally positive reviews. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream publications, the album received an average score of 73, based on eight reviews. Q magazine said “it’s aged remarkably well and ‘All My Love’ is breathtakingly beautiful”, while Tim Batcup from Classic Rock observed in the bonus material “a scruffier, rambunctious ‘Hot Dog’ and a sparser ‘In the Evening’, the drone intro truncated and Jones’s synths high in the mix”.[36] PopMatters reviewer Andrew Doscas was more critical, especially of the bonus disc: “While In Through the Out Door does have some merit, it’s cruel of Led Zeppelin to think that anyone, even a dedicated fan, could muster the strength to listen to the album twice in a row.”

  1. “In the Evening” 6:48
  2. “South Bound Saurez” 4:11
  3. “Fool in the Rain” 6:08
  4. “Hot Dog” 3:15
  5. “Carouselambra” 10:28
  6. “All My Love” 5:51
  7. “I’m Gonna Crawl” 5:28
  8. “In the Evening” (Rough mix) 6:53
  9. “Southbound Piano” (“South Bound Saurez”) (Rough mix) 4:15
  10. “Fool in the Rain” (Rough mix) 6:08
  11. “Hot Dog” (Rough mix) 3:16
  12. “The Epic” (“Carouselambra”) (Rough mix) 10:48
  13. “The Hook” (“All My Love”) (Rough mix) 5:51
  14. “Blot” (“I’m Gonna Crawl”) (Rough mix) 5:33

John Bonham – drums, percussion
John Paul Jones – bass guitar, keyboards
Jimmy Page – guitars, gizmotron, production
Robert Plant – lead vocals