Wednesday 2/2/22 8pm ET: Artist Countdown: The Temptations Top 30 Hits

The Temptations are an American vocal group from Detroit, Michigan, who released a series of successful singles and albums with Motown Records during the 1960s and 1970s. The group’s work with producer Norman Whitfield, beginning with the Top 10 hit single “Cloud Nine” in October 1968, pioneered psychedelic soul, and was significant in the evolution of R&B and soul music. The band members are known for their choreography, distinct harmonies, and dress style. Having sold tens of millions of albums, the Temptations are among the most successful groups in popular music.

Featuring five male vocalists and dancers (save for brief periods with fewer or more members), the group formed in 1960 in Detroit under the name the Elgins. The founding members came from two rival Detroit vocal groups: Otis Williams, Elbridge “Al” Bryant, and Melvin Franklin of Otis Williams & the Distants, and Eddie Kendricks and Paul Williams of the Primes. In 1964, Bryant was replaced by David Ruffin, who was the lead vocalist on a number of the group’s biggest hits, including “My Girl” (1964), “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg” (1966), and “I Wish It Would Rain” (1967). Ruffin was replaced in 1968 by Dennis Edwards, with whom the group continued to record hit records such as “Cloud Nine” (1968), “I Can’t Get Next to You” (1969), and “Ball of Confusion (That’s What the World Is Today)” (1970). The group’s lineup has changed frequently since the departures of Kendricks and Paul Williams from the act in 1971. Later members of the group have included singers such as Richard Street, Damon Harris, Ron Tyson, and Ali-Ollie Woodson, with whom the group scored a late-period hit in 1984 with “Treat Her Like a Lady” and in 1987 with the theme song for the children’s movement program Kids in Motion.

1 My Girl
2 Papa Was a Rollin’ Stone
3 I’m Gonna Make You Love Me (with Supremes)
4 Treat Her Like a Lady
5 Masterpiece
6 Ball of Confusion (That’s What the World Is Today)
7 I Can’t Get Next to You
8 Beauty Is Only Skin Deep

9 Cloud Nine
10 Psychedelic Shack
11 (I Know) I’m Losing You

12 Ain’t Too Proud to Beg
13 Power

14 Get Ready
15 It’s Growing
16 Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)
17 Superstar (Remember How You Got Where You Are)
18 Standing on the Top (featuring Rick James)
19 I Could Never Love Another (After Loving You)
20 Runaway Child, Running Wild
21 You’re My Everything
22 I’ll Try Something New (With Supremes)
23 I Wish It Would Rain
24 Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)
25 Take a Look Around
26 Please Return Your Love to Me
27 Don’t Let the Joneses Get You Down
28 Shakey Ground
29 All I Need
30 I’ll Be in Trouble