Wednesday 1/26/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: Saga – Heads or Tales (1983)

Heads or Tales is the fifth studio album by the Canadian progressive rock band Saga and was originally released in September 1983. The album was the second of the band’s to be produced by Rupert Hine. Although it did not attain the same commercial success and status of the previous collaboration between the band and Hine, Worlds Apart (1981), both “The Flyer” and “Cat Walk” became respectable radio hits for the band with the album eventually securing gold status in Canada (50,000) and Germany (250,000). A third single from the album, “Scratching the Surface”, became a live staple and fan favorite in the band’s concert line-up during the late-1990s and 2000s as a piano solo played by Jim Gilmour during a break by the other band members. The song reached #45 in the Canadian Singles charts, April 1984.

  1. “The Flyer” 3:47
  2. “Cat Walk” 4:24
  3. “The Sound of Strangers” 4:09
  4. “The Writing” 4:14
  5. “Intermission” 5:28
  6. “Social Orphan” 3:24
  7. “The Vendetta (Still Helpless)” 3:55
  8. “Scratching the Surface” 5:26
  9. “The Pitchman” 5:46
  10. “Cat Walk” (Unabridged) 7:44

Michael Sadler – lead vocals (all but track #8), keyboards
Ian Crichton – guitar
Jim Gilmour – lead keyboards, backing and lead (8) vocals, sax
Jim Crichton – bass guitar, keyboards
Steve Negus – drums, percussion, electronic percussion