Tuesday 1/25/22 12am ET: Feature LP: Warren Zevon – The Wind (2003)

The Wind is the twelfth and final studio album by American singer-songwriter Warren Zevon. The album was released on August 26, 2003, by Artemis Records. Zevon began recording the album shortly after he was diagnosed with inoperable pleural mesothelioma (a cancer of the lining of the lung), and it was released just two weeks before his death on September 7, 2003. The album was awarded the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album, and “Disorder in the House”, performed by Zevon with Bruce Springsteen, won the Grammy for Best Rock Vocal Performance (Group or Duo). Songs from the album were nominated for an additional three Grammys.

  1. “Dirty Life and Times” 3:15
  2. “Disorder in the House” 4:36
  3. “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door” 4:05
  4. “Numb as a Statue” 4:08
  5. “She’s Too Good for Me” 3:12
  6. “Prison Grove” 4:51
  7. “El Amor de Mi Vida” 3:34
  8. “The Rest of the Night” 4:41
  9. “Please Stay” 3:34
  10. “Rub Me Raw” 5:44
  11. “Keep Me in Your Heart” 3:28

Warren Zevon – vocals and acoustic guitar
Ry Cooder – guitar
Jorge Calderón – bass guitar
Don Henley – drums
Billy Bob Thornton – backing vocals
Dwight Yoakam – backing vocals
Jim Keltner – drums

Bruce Springsteen – electric guitar and backing vocals
Brad Davis – electric guitar and backing vocals
Steve Gorman – drums

Randy Mitchell – slide guitar and backing vocals
Tommy Shaw – 12-string acoustic guitar and backing vocals
Billy Bob Thornton – backing vocals
John Waite – backing vocals
David Lindley – lap steel guitar

Luis Conte – drums and percussion
Timothy B. Schmit – backing vocals
Reggie Hamilton – upright bass
Jordan Zevon – backing vocals
Jackson Browne – backing vocals
T Bone Burnett – backing vocals

James Raymond – piano
Mike Campbell – electric guitar
Tom Petty – backing vocals
Gil Bernal – saxophone
Emmylou Harris – backing vocals
Joe Walsh – slide guitar