Thursday 1/20/22 11pm ET: Feature LP: John Mellencamp – Trouble No More

Trouble No More is American singer-songwriter and musician John Mellencamp’s 18th studio album and his final recording for Columbia Records, released June 3, 2003. It consists of blues and folk covers.

A re-working of “To Washington” featuring new lyrics critical of President George W. Bush and the Iraq War, generated much controversy upon the album’s release.

In addition to the album, a documentary titled Trouble No More: The Making of a John Mellencamp Album was produced and directed by Ron Osgood, along with students from his documentary course at Indiana University. The documentary won a Regional Emmy and several small festival awards in 2004 and 2005.

“Stones in My Passway” 3:17
“Death Letter” 6:14
“Johnny Hart” 4:31
“Baltimore Oriole” 3:54
“Teardrops Will Fall” 4:24
“Diamond Joe” 4:37
“The End of the World” 3:24
“Down in the Bottom” 3:31
“Lafayette” 3:55
“Joliet Bound” 3:34
“John the Revelator” 3:19
To Washington” 2:39

John Mellencamp – vocals, guitar
Andy York – guitars, bass
Dane Clark – drums, percussion
Miriam Sturm – violin, viola
Michael Ramos – accordion, organ
Toby Myers – upright bass
John Gunnell – electric bass
Pat Peterson – background vocals, tambourine
Courtney Kaiser – background vocals, tambourine
Heather Headley – background vocals
Janas Hoyt – background vocals
Michael Clark – pedal steel
T. Blayde – kazoo