Wednesday 1/19/22 1am ET: Feature LP: Chicago – Chicago VI (1973)

Chicago VI is the fifth studio album by American rock band Chicago and was released on June 25, 1973. It was the band’s second in a string of five consecutive albums to make it to No. 1 in the US, was certified gold less than a month after its release, and has been certified two-times platinum since. It is the first album to feature percussionist Laudir de Oliveira, who would become a full-fledged member of the band for Chicago VIII. VI is the first studio album (the other being 1975’s compilation Chicago IX) to feature the original band members on the cover before the death of leader and co-founder Terry Kath.

  1. “Critics’ Choice” 2:49
  2. “Just You ‘n’ Me” 3:42
  3. “Darlin’ Dear” 2:56
  4. “Jenny” 3:31
  5. “What’s This World Coming To” 4:58
  6. “Something in This City Changes People” 3:42
  7. “Hollywood” 3:52
  8. “In Terms of Two” 3:29
  9. “Rediscovery” 4:47
  10. “Feelin’ Stronger Every Day” 4:15

Peter Cetera – Bass guitar, lead vocals, backing vocals, harmonica on “In Terms of Two”
Terry Kath – Electric guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, lead vocals, backing vocals
Robert Lamm – Acoustic piano, Hammond organ, clavinet, Wurlitzer electric piano, Fender Rhodes, ARP synthesizer, Hohner Pianet, lead vocals, backing vocals

Lee Loughnane – Trumpet, backing vocals, percussion, co-lead vocals on “Something In This City Changes People”
James Pankow – Trombone, brass arrangements
Walter Parazaider – Saxophone, flute
Danny Seraphine – Drums, percussion
Laudir de Oliveira – Congas
Joe Lala – Congas
J. G. O’Rafferty – Pedal steel