Thursday 1/13/22 10pm ET: Feature LP: Bon Jovi – Have A Nice Day (2005)

Have a Nice Day is the ninth studio album by American rock band Bon Jovi, released on September 20, 2005. Produced by John Shanks, the album was recorded at Sanctuary Sound II in New Jersey, and Ocean Way Recording in Hollywood, California.

Have a Nice Day was originally recorded in the summer of 2004 and planned for release in early 2005. However, due to misunderstandings between the band and its record company, the album was delayed. The band wanted to write and record more songs, remove others from the original track list, and in the process, altered existing album tracks.

Have a Nice Day peaked at number two in both the US and UK. In the US, it sold over 202,000 copies in the first week, making it Bon Jovi’s best first-week sales in the band’s history at that time. The album was eventually certified platinum by the RIAA.

The album produced the hit singles “Have a Nice Day” and “Who Says You Can’t Go Home”. Have a Nice Day has received mixed reviews by music critics. It was commonly commented that Jon Bon Jovi was “stretching” his lyrical abilities.

  1. “Have a Nice Day” 3:48
  2. “I Want to Be Loved” 3:49
  3. “Welcome to Wherever You Are” 3:47
  4. “Who Says You Can’t Go Home” 4:40
  5. “Last Man Standing” 4:37
  6. “Bells of Freedom” 4:55
  7. “Wildflower” 4:13
  8. “Last Cigarette” 3:38
  9. “I Am” 3:53
  10. “Complicated” 3:37
  11. “Novocaine” 4:49
  12. “Story of My Life” 4:08
  13. “Dirty Little Secret” 3:37
  14. “Unbreakable” 3:52
  15. “These Open Arms” 3:42

Jon Bon Jovi – lead vocals, background vocals
Richie Sambora – guitars, background vocals
Tico Torres – drums, percussion
David Bryan – keyboards
Hugh McDonald – bass guitar
Paul Buckmaster – string arranger (track 7)
David Campbell – string arranger (track 3)
Dan Dugmore – steel guitar (track 13)
Dann Huff – mandolin and bouzouki (track 13)
Jennifer Nettles – duet vocals (track 13)
B.C. Smith – programming (tracks 8, 11, 12)
Jonathan Yudkin – fiddle and mandolin (track 13)