Tuesday 1/11/22 1am ET: Feature LP: Chicago – Chicago II (1970)

Chicago (retroactively known as Chicago II) is the second studio album by Chicago-based American rock band Chicago. Like their debut album, Chicago Transit Authority, this was a double album. It was their first album under the name Chicago (the band’s prior name, Chicago Transit Authority, was changed due to a threatened lawsuit from the actual mass-transit operator bearing the same name) and the first to use the now ubiquitous cursive Chicago logo on the cover. Released in January 1970 on Columbia Records, Chicago was commercially successful. It was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) in April of the same year of its release, and certified platinum in 1991. It reached No. 4 on the album charts in the United States and No. 6 on the album charts in the UK, and produced three top ten singles on the Billboard Hot 100. The album received three Grammy Award nominations – for Album of the Year, Contemporary Vocal Group, and Best Album Cover. It was voted best album of 1970 by readers of Cash Box magazine, and the 1971 best small-combo LP by readers of Playboy magazine.

  1. “Movin’ In” 4:06
  2. “The Road” 3:10
  3. “Poem for the People” 4:25
  4. “In the Country” 6:34
  5. “Wake Up Sunshine” 2:29
  6. “Ballet for a Girl in Buchannon” 12:55
    “Make Me Smile” (3:32)
    “So Much to Say, So Much to Give” (1:04)
    “Anxiety’s Moment” (1:00)
    “West Virginia Fantasies” (1:34)
    “Colour My World” (2:58)
    “To Be Free” (1:21)
    “Now More Than Ever” (1:27)
  7. “Fancy Colours” 5:10
  8. “25 or 6 to 4” 4:50
  9. “Memories of Love” 9:12
    “Prelude” (1:18)
    “A.M. Mourning” (2:05)
    “P.M. Mourning” (1:59)
    “Memories of Love” (4:01)
  10. “It Better End Soon” 10:24
    “1st Movement” (2:30)
    “2nd Movement” (3:47)
    “3rd Movement” (3:19)
    “4th Movement” (1:15)”
  11. “Where Do We Go from Here?” 2:53

Peter Cetera – bass, vocals
Terry Kath – guitar, vocals
Robert Lamm – keyboards, vocals
Lee Loughnane – trumpet, vocals
James Pankow – trombone
Walter Parazaider – saxophone, flute, clarinet, vocals
Danny Seraphine – drums