Sunday 12/26/21 2am ET: Feature LP: Billy Squier – Signs of Life (1984)

Signs of Life is the fourth studio album by American musician Billy Squier, releaed in July 1984. It was co-produced by Meat Loaf’s famed songwriter Jim Steinman, replacing Reinhold Mack, who had produced Squier’s previous two hit records, Don’t Say No (1981) and Emotions in Motion (1982), as well as Queen’s The Game (1980).

The album’s best known song, “Rock Me Tonite”, was his best charting hit and second #1 single in the Mainstream Rock charts (holding the top spot for two weeks), but is also known for its notorious video which did not conform to standard gender roles or expectations of masculinity at the time. The perceived challenge to Squier’s image as a guitar-playing rocker is often regarded as one of the main reasons for Squier’s subsequent popularity decline as well as one of the worst music videos in the history of MTV; in the book I Want My MTV there is a whole chapter dedicated to it.

  1. “All Night Long” 4:51
  2. “Rock Me Tonite” 4:56
  3. “Eye on You” 4:42
  4. “Take a Look Behind Ya” 5:03
  5. “Reach For the Sky” 5:34
  6. “(Another) 1984” 4:56
  7. “Fall for Love” 4:52
  8. “Can’t Get Next to You” 4:36
  9. “Hand-Me-Downs” 4:22
  10. “Sweet Release” 6:15

Billy Squier – lead vocals, guitars, keyboards, synthesizers, production
Jeff Golub – guitars, slide guitar
Alan St. Jon – keyboards, synthesizers
Doug Lubahn – bass guitar, backing vocals
Bobby Chouinard – drums
Larry Fast – synthesizers
Jimmy Maelen – percussion
Eric Troyer and Rory Dodd – additional vocals on “Fall for Love” and “Reach for the Sky”
Brian May – guitar solo on “(Another) 1984”
Alfa Anderson – additional vocals on “(Another) 1984”