Wednesday 11/17/21 1am ET: Feature LP: Styx – Crystal Ball (1976)

Crystal Ball is the sixth album by Styx, released in October 1976. This album marked the recording debut of new guitarist Tommy Shaw. The track “Mademoiselle” was Tommy Shaw’s vocal debut and the album’s Top-40 hit. The album’s title track would become a concert staple for the band, as it was performed on every subsequent Styx tour with which Shaw was involved.

Claude Debussy’s classical piece “Clair de Lune” served as the intro to the album’s closing track, “Ballerina”. The version of “Clair de Lune” on Crystal Ball features only DeYoung on piano, with the key changed from D flat to C, as the next track (“Ballerina”) begins in C minor.

  1. “Put Me On” 4:56
  2. “Mademoiselle” 3:57
  3. “Jennifer” 4:16
  4. “Crystal Ball” 4:32
  5. “Shooz” 4:44
  6. “This Old Man” 5:11
  7. “Clair de Lune / Ballerina” 7:09

Dennis DeYoung – vocals, keyboards
James “JY” Young – vocals, electric guitars

Tommy Shaw – vocals, electric and acoustic guitars
Chuck Panozzo – bass guitar
John Panozzo – drums, percussion