Thursday 11/18/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Willie Nelson – The Willie Nelson Family (2021)

Shaped around a setlist of 12 favorite spirit-driven songs from the Nelson Family repertoire, The Willie Nelson Family draws on deep Americana (including A.P. Carter’s “Keep It On The Sunnyside” and the traditional hymn “In The Garden”) while celebrating classic songwriting from Hank Williams (“I Saw The Light”) and Kris Kristofferson (“Why Me”) to George Harrison (“All Things Must Pass”) and Willie Nelson (who penned half of the album’s compositions).

Produced by Willie Nelson and Steve Chadie, The Willie Nelson Family was recorded and mixed by Chadie at Pedernales Studios in Austin, Texas. Willie’s son Lukas sings lead vocals on two of the album’s tracks – “All Things Must Pass” and “Keep It On The Sunnyside” – while sharing lead vocals with Willie on “I Saw the Light,” “I Thought About You, Lord” and “Why Me.”

Four of the performances on The Willie Nelson Family – “Heaven and Hell,” “Kneel at the Feet of Jesus,” “Laying My Burdens Down” and “Family Bible” – are among the last recordings Willie made with his longtime drummer and pal Paul English. Paul and Willie first played together in Fort Worth in 1955; Paul became Willie’s regular drummer in 1966 and an essential member of the Family until he passed away, at age 87, on February 11, 2020.

  1. Heaven And Hell 2:22
  2. Kneel At The Feet Of Jesus 2:29
  3. Laying My Burdens Down 1:49
  4. Family Bible 2:49
  5. In The Garden 3:25
  6. All Things Must Pass 3:37
  7. I Saw The Light 1:52
  8. In Gods Eyes 2:55
  9. Keep It On The Sunnyside 2:55
  10. I Thought About You, Lord 3:20
  11. Too Sick To Pray 2:16
  12. Why Me 2:12