Thursday 10/14/21 11pm ET: Feature LP: Daryl Hall & John Oates – Big Bam Boom (1984)

Big Bam Boom is the twelfth studio album by American duo Daryl Hall & John Oates, released by RCA Records on October 12, 1984. It marked the end of one of the most successful album runs by a duo of the 1980s. RCA issued a remastered version in July 2004 with four bonus tracks. The lead single “Out of Touch” was a #1 pop hit, and charted in several other areas (#24 Hot Black Singles, #8 on the Adult Contemporary charts and #1 on the dance charts, #48 in the UK). Another song taken from the album, the Daryl Hall and Janna Allen-penned “Method of Modern Love” reached a high point of #5, and “Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid,” reached #18.

Musical styles on the album include pop, rock, and dance-rock, with R&B/soul influences. The album had even more of an electronic, urban feel to it compared to their previous albums, combining their song structure & vocalization with the latest technical advances in recording and playing. The album employed some of the most sophisticated equipment ever used in the recording industry at the time.

Big Bam Boom peaked at No. 5 in the United States and sold over three million copies worldwide.

  1. “Dance on Your Knees” 1:25
  2. “Out of Touch” 4:21
  3. “Method of Modern Love” 5:32
  4. “Bank on Your Love” 4:17
  5. “Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid” 5:27
  6. “Going Thru the Motions” 5:39
  7. “Cold Dark and Yesterday” 4:41
  8. “All American Girl” 4:28
  9. “Possession Obsession” 4:36
  10. “Out of Touch” (12″ version) 7:35
  11. “Method of Modern Love” (12″ version) 7:48
  12. “Possession Obsession” (12″ version) 6:28
  13. “Dance on Your Knees” (12″ version) 6:38

Daryl Hall – lead vocals (1–6, 8), backing vocals, synthesizers, guitars, arrangements
John Oates – lead vocals (7, 9), backing vocals, synthesizers, guitars, synth guitar, arrangements

Robbie Kilgore – keyboards, synthesizer programming
Wells Christy – Synclavier programming
Clive Smith – Fairlight CMI
Tom “T-Bone” Wolk – synthesizers, guitars, bass guitar, arrangements
G.E. Smith – lead guitars
Mickey Curry – drums
Jimmy Bralower – LinnDrum programming
Bashiri Johnson – percussion, timbales
Jay Burnett – additional percussion
Charles DeChant – saxophone
Coati Mundi – Spanish vocals