Sunday 9/12/21 1am ET: Feature LP: Pink Floyd – Animals (1977)

Animals is the tenth studio album by the English rock band Pink Floyd, released on January 21, 1977 through Harvest and Columbia Records. It was recorded at the band’s Britannia Row Studios in London throughout 1976, and was produced by the band. The album continues the longform compositions that made up their previous works, including Wish You Were Here (1975). The album received positive reviews from critics and was commercially successful, reaching No. 2 in the UK and No. 3 in the US.

Animals is both a progressive rock album and a concept album, focusing on the social-political conditions of mid-1970s Britain, and was a change from the style of their earlier work. Tension within the band during production culminated in keyboardist Richard Wright being fired two years later. The album’s cover shows an inflatable pig floating between two chimneys of Battersea Power Station, conceived by the band’s bassist and lead songwriter Roger Waters, and was designed by long-time collaborator Storm Thorgerson. The band released no singles from the record, but promoted it through the In the Flesh tour. Waters’ agitation with audiences during this tour inspired their next record, The Wall.

  1. “Pigs on the Wing (Part One)” 1:24
  2. “Dogs” 17:04
  3. “Pigs (Three Different Ones)” 11:28
  4. “Sheep” 10:20
  5. “Pigs on the Wing (Part Two)” 1:24

David Gilmour – lead vocals (2), lead guitar (2–4), bass guitar (3, 4), acoustic guitar (2), talk box (3)
Roger Waters – lead vocals (all tracks), harmony vocals (2, 3), acoustic guitar (1, 5), rhythm guitar (3, 4), bass guitar (2), tape effects (3, 4), vocoder (2–4), sleeve concept
Nick Mason – drums, percussion (2–4), tape effects (4), graphics
Richard Wright – Hammond organ (2–4), ARP string synthesizer (2–4), Fender Rhodes (2, 4), Minimoog (2, 4), Farfisa organ (2), piano (3), clavinet (3), EMS VCS 3 (4), harmony vocals (2)
Snowy White – guitar solo (on 8-track version of “Pigs on the Wing”)