Monday 9/13/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Alice In Chains – Facelift (1990)

Facelift is the debut studio album by the American rock band Alice in Chains, released by Columbia Records on August 21, 1990. The tracks “We Die Young”, “Man in the Box”, “Sea of Sorrow” and “Bleed the Freak” were released as singles. “Man In The Box” was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock Performance with Vocal in 1992. Facelift became the first album from the grunge movement to be certified gold on September 11, 1991. The album peaked at No. 42 on the Billboard 200 chart, was certified platinum and has gone on to be certified double-platinum by the RIAA for shipments of two million copies in the United States.

  1. “We Die Young” 2:32
  2. “Man in the Box” 4:46
  3. “Sea of Sorrow” 5:49
  4. “Bleed the Freak” 4:01
  5. “I Can’t Remember” 3:42
  6. “Love, Hate, Love” 6:26
  7. “It Ain’t Like That” 4:37
  8. “Sunshine” 4:44
  9. “Put You Down” 3:16
  10. “Confusion” 5:44
  11. “I Know Somethin (Bout You)” 4:22
  12. “Real Thing” 4:03

Layne Staley – lead vocals
Jerry Cantrell – guitar, backing vocals, talkbox on “Man in the Box”
Mike Starr – bass, backing vocals on “Confusion”
Sean Kinney – drums, percussion, additional backing vocals, piano on “Sea of Sorrow”
Kevin Shuss – Additional backing vocals