Tuesday 9/7/21 1am ET: Feature LP: The Cars – Heartbeat City (1984)

Heartbeat City is the fifth studio album by American rock band the Cars, released on March 13, 1984, by Elektra Records. The band produced the album with Robert John “Mutt” Lange.

This marks the band’s first album not produced by long-time producer Roy Thomas Baker. It also represented a return to the success of the band’s self-titled debut album, with critic Robert Christgau noting that “the glossy approach the Cars invented has made this the best year for pure pop in damn near twenty years, and it’s only fair that they should return so confidently to form.” Numerous tracks from the album received airplay on modern rock and AOR stations, with the singles “Drive” and “You Might Think” reaching the top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100, while the album peaked at number three on the Billboard 200.

  1. “Hello Again” 3:47
  2. “Looking for Love” 3:52
  3. “Magic” 3:57
  4. “Drive” 3:55
  5. “Stranger Eyes” 4:26
  6. “You Might Think” 3:04
  7. “It’s Not the Night” 3:49
  8. “Why Can’t I Have You” 4:04
  9. “I Refuse” 3:16
  10. “Heartbeat City” 4:31
  11. “Hello Again” (remix) 5:57
  12. “Breakaway” 3:47
  13. “Tonight She Comes” 3:58

Ric Ocasek – vocals, guitar
Ben Orr – vocals, bass
Elliot Easton – guitar, vocals
Greg Hawkes – keyboards, vocals, Fairlight CMI programming
David Robinson – drums, Fairlight programming