Tuesday 8/24/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Julian Lennon – Valotte (1984)

Valotte is the debut studio album by singer-songwriter Julian Lennon. The album was produced by Phil Ramone and recorded at several studios from February to August 1984. It was released in October 1984 on Charisma and Atlantic. The album was first certified gold in the United States, in the new year, then shortly afterwards being certified platinum. From the album, four singles were released, each with a music video, charting at various positions on the singles charts in both the United Kingdom and US. “Too Late for Goodbyes”, the second US single, and “Valotte”, the first US single, were both US Billboard Top 10 hits, the former reaching No. 5 and the latter reaching No. 9. The album peaked at No. 17 in the US and No. 20 in the UK. Lennon toured the US, Australia, and Japan in March–June 1985.

“Valotte” – 4:15
“O.K. for You” – 3:38

“On the Phone” – 4:42
“Space” – 4:22
“Well I Don’t Know” – 4:35
“Too Late for Goodbyes” – 3:30
“Lonely” – 3:50
“Say You’re Wrong” – 3:25
“Jesse” – 3:48
“Let Me Be” – 2:12

Julian Lennon – lead vocals, backing vocals, keyboards, bass, Simmons drums
Barry Beckett – keyboards
David LeBolt – keyboards
Peter Wood – keyboards
Justin Clayton – guitar
Carlton Morales – guitar
Martin Briley – guitar (6)

Dennis Herring – guitar (9)
David Hood – bass
Marcus Miller – bass
Carmine Rojas – bass
Roger Hawkins – drums
Steve Holley – drums, percussion
Ralph MacDonald – percussion
Toots Thielemans – harmonica (6)
Michael Brecker – saxophone, sax solo (7)
Ronnie Cuber – saxophone
Lawrence Feldman – saxophone
George Young – saxophone
Jon Faddis – trumpet
Joe Shepley – trumpet
Rory Dodd – backing vocals
Eric Troyer – backing vocals