Friday 6/25/21 1am ET: Feature LP: Genesis – Invisible Touch (1986)

Invisible Touch is the 13th studio album by the English rock band Genesis, released on June 6, 1986 by Atlantic Records in the United States and June 9, 1986 by Charisma and Virgin Records in the United Kingdom. After taking a break in group activity for each member to continue with their solo projects in 1984, the band reconvened in October 1985 to write and record Invisible Touch with engineer and producer Hugh Padgham. As with their previous album, it was written entirely through group improvisations and no material developed prior to recording was used.

Invisible Touch was a worldwide success and reached No. 1 on the UK Albums Chart and No. 3 on the US Billboard 200. It remains the band’s highest selling album after it was certified multi-platinum for over 1.2 million copies sold in the UK and 6 million sold in the US. Genesis became the first band and foreign act to have five singles from one album reach the top five on the US Billboard Hot 100, with “Invisible Touch” being their first and only song to reach No. 1 on the charts. The album received mixed reviews upon its release and retrospectively, with several reviews, both positive and negative, observing its similarity to Collins’s solo records and their commercial pop-oriented sound. In 2007, the album was re-released with new stereo and 5.1 surround sound mixes.

  1. “Invisible Touch” 3:29
  2. “Tonight, Tonight, Tonight” 8:53
  3. “Land of Confusion” 4:45
  4. “In Too Deep” 4:58
  5. “Anything She Does” 4:09
  6. “Domino”
    Part One – In the Glow of the Night”
    Part Two – The Last Domino”” 10:44
  7. “Throwing It All Away” 3:53
  8. “The Brazilian” 4:50

Tony Banks – Sequential Circuits Prophet 10, Yamaha CP-70 electric grand piano, NED Synclavier (ORK version), E-mu Emulator II, ARP Quadra, Yamaha DX7, Yamaha TX816, Bass Synthesizer
Phil Collins – Lead vocals, backing vocals, drums, Simmons electronic drums, percussion, Drum-Machine
Mike Rutherford – Shergold double-neck guitars, bass guitars, Taurus Moog Bass Pedals