Wednesday 6/23/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Jay Ferguson – Thunder Island (1977)

Thunder Island, released in 1977, is the second studio album by American musician Jay Ferguson. The title track became a top ten hit on the Billboard Hot 100 pop chart.

The album was first issued on compact disc by the Collector’s Choice label. The album was reissued as part of a two disc set including Ferguson’s first and third solo albums by Edsel. The booklet included a new interview with Ferguson discussing the making of his first three albums.

Producer Bill Szymczyk recruited much of the same personnel as Ferguson’s first solo album including Joe Walsh to play on the album which was recorded in the same Miami studio as the Eagles’ Hotel California and other big albums of the era.

  1. “Thunder Island” 4:00
  2. “Soulin'” 4:07
  3. “Happy Birthday, Baby” 4:15
  4. “Losing Control” 3:50
  5. “Cozumel” 3:14
  6. “Night Shift” 3:36
  7. “Babylon” Ferguson 4:23
  8. “Love Is Cold” 3:48
  9. “Happy Too!” 2:31
  10. “Magic Moment” 3:59

Jay Ferguson – vocals, keyboards
Stan Kipper – drums
Joey Murcia – guitar
Tony Battaglia – guitar
Harold Cowart – bass guitar
Joe Walsh – guitar
Bob Webb – guitar
Ed Brown – bass guitar
Bill Szymczyk – percussion