Wednesday 6/2/21 2pm ET: Feature LP: Def Leppard – Adrenalize (1992)

Adrenalize is the fifth studio album by English rock band Def Leppard, released on March 31, 1992 through Mercury Records. The album was the first by the band following the death of guitarist Steve Clark in 1991. Instead of replacing him with a new member, the band recorded the album as a four-piece. “We had recorded demos on multitrack,” recalled fellow guitarist Phil Collen. “I was sitting there with him when he played the original parts. I could relay that. But it was like playing along to a ghost.”

This was also the band’s first album recorded without their longtime producer “Mutt” Lange. Instead, the band took matters in their own hands and produced the album themselves, along with the longtime engineer Mike Shipley; “Mutt” Lange was credited as Executive Producer. The album spawned seven singles, three of which – “Let’s Get Rocked”, “Make Love Like a Man” and “Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad” – were major hits. One of the tracks on the album, “White Lightning”, is dedicated to the memory of Steve Clark, who has writing credits on six of the album’s 10 tracks.

  1. “Let’s Get Rocked” 4:56
  2. “Heaven Is” 3:33
  3. “Make Love Like a Man” 4:15
  4. “Tonight” 4:03
  5. “White Lightning” 7:03
  6. “Stand Up (Kick Love into Motion)” 4:32
  7. “Personal Property” 4:21
  8. “Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad” 5:24
  9. “I Wanna Touch U” 3:37
  10. “Tear It Down” 3:38

Joe Elliott – lead vocals, backing vocals
Phil Collen – lead and rhythm guitars (except acoustic guitar on “Tonight”), backing vocals, Cockney rhyming rap on “Make Love Like a Man”
Rick Savage – bass guitar, backing vocals, acoustic guitar on “Tonight”
Rick Allen – drums, backing vocals
The Sideways Mob – backing vocals
Robert John “Mutt” Lange, John Sykes – backing vocals
Phil “Crash” Nicholas – keyboards on “Stand Up (Kick Love into Motion)”