Friday 5/14/21 1am ET: Feature LP: Smithereens – 11 (1989)

(Actual start time for air is (01:10:00)) 11 is the third studio album by American rock band The Smithereens, released on October 24, 1989 by Capitol Records. It includes the Billboard Top 40 single “A Girl Like You”. The album was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America in June 1990.

The album title was inspired by the film Ocean’s 11, “with a little push from Spinal Tap’s famous line, “This one goes to 11”, according to guitarist Jim Babjak.

  1. “A Girl Like You” 4:42
  2. “Blues Before and After” 3:15
  3. “Blue Period” 2:57
  4. “Baby Be Good” 3:20
  5. “Room Without a View” 4:09
  6. “Yesterday Girl” 3:27
  7. “Cut Flowers” 3:40
  8. “William Wilson” 3:33
  9. “Maria Elena” 2:48
  10. “Kiss Your Tears Away” 3:10

Pat DiNizio – vocals, guitar, string arrangement on “Blue Period”
Jim Babjak – guitar
Dennis Diken – drums, percussion, cover concept
Mike Mesaros – bass
Belinda Carlisle – vocal on “Blue Period”
Michael Hamilton – guitar on “A Girl Like You”, “Blues Before and After”, “Room Without a View” and “Kiss Your Tears Away”
The Honeys (Ginger Blake, Diane Rovell, Marilyn Wilson) – background vocals on “Baby Be Good” and “Cut Flowers”
Kenny Margolis – piano, electric piano, accordion, harpsichord, synthesizer
Ed Stasium – background vocals, percussion
Gerri Sutyak – cello on “Blue Period”
Maria Vidal – background vocals on “A Girl Like You”