Friday 4/30/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Chicago – Night & Day: Big Band (1995)

Night & Day: Big Band is the eighteenth studio album by the American band Chicago, and twenty-second overall, released May 23, 1995. It is a departure from Top 40 material for a more thematic project, with a focus on classic big band, jazz, and swing music.

Chicago left Reprise Records and started their own imprint, Chicago Records, to re-distribute their music. This album was carried by Giant Records, a subsidiary of Warner Music, who also distributes Reprise.

With producer Bruce Fairbairn, Chicago recorded Night & Day: Big Band from late 1994 to early 1995 and released it that May. Although Bruce Gaitsch played guitar on the sessions, the guitar slot would eventually be filled that year by Keith Howland, who remains Chicago’s present guitarist. Joe Perry of Aerosmith was brought in to add a solo to “Blues in the Night”.

The album reached #90 in the US, on the Billboard 200 chart.

  1. “Chicago” 3:06
  2. “Caravan” 3:23
  3. “Dream a Little Dream of Me” 3:12
  4. “Goody Goody” 4:05
  5. “Moonlight Serenade” 4:26
  6. “Night and Day” 5:36
  7. “Blues in the Night” 6:05
  8. “Sing, Sing, Sing” 3:21
  9. “Sophisticated Lady” 5:11
  10. “In the Mood” 3:43
  11. “Don’t Get Around Much Anymore” 3:38
  12. “Take the “A” 5:36

Bill Champlin – keyboards, guitar, vocals, vocal arrangement, arrangement (4, 7, 10, 11)
Bruce Gaitsch – guitar, arrangement (10)
Tris Imboden – drums, harmonica, arrangement (10)
Robert Lamm – keyboards, vocals, additional vocal arrangement, arrangement (1, 6, 9-12)
Lee Loughnane – trumpet, flugelhorn, brass arrangement (7, 8, 10), arrangement (8), vocal arrangement (8)
James Pankow – trombone, brass arrangement (1-6, 9-12), arrangement (2, 3, 5, 10)
Walter Parazaider – woodwinds, arrangement (10)
Jason Scheff – bass guitar, vocals, additional vocal arrangement, arrangement (9, 10)
Luis Conte – percussion
Jack Duncan – percussion on “Night and Day”
Sal Ferreras – percussion on “Night and Day”
The Gipsy Kings (Nicolas Reyes and Patchai Reyes) – vocals, rumba flamenco guitars and vocal arrangements on “Sing, Sing, Sing”
Jade – vocals on “Dream a Little Dream of Me”
Joe Perry – guitar solo on “Blues in the Night”
Paul Shaffer – piano on “Dream a Little Dream of Me”
Bruce Fairbairn – trumpet solo on “Chicago”
Tonino Baliardo – lead guitar on “Sing, Sing, Sing”
Peter Wolf – arrangements on “In the Mood”
Shelly Berg – orchestration, big band arrangements
Bill Watrous – big band arrangements