Sunday 4/4/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Genesis – Trespass (1970)

Trespass is the second studio album by the English rock band Genesis. It was released October 23, 1970 on Charisma Records, and is their last album with guitarist Anthony Phillips and their only one with drummer John Mayhew.

Genesis turned professional in autumn 1969, and began to rehearse intensely and play live shows. After several months of touring they secured a recording contract with Charisma Records, and entered Trident Studios in London in July 1970 to record Trespass. The music marked a departure from more pop-oriented songs, as displayed on their first album From Genesis to Revelation, towards folk-flavoured progressive rock. This ranged from light acoustic pieces with multiple twelve-string guitars, to the heavier live favourite “The Knife”. The sleeve, featuring a knife slash across the front, was the first of several to be designed by Paul Whitehead.

Shortly after recording, Phillips decided to leave the group, which almost caused Genesis to split. After discussions they agreed to carry on, replacing Mayhew with Phil Collins. Trespass was not a major success upon release; it failed to chart in the UK and the US and it received some mixed reviews from critics, but it was commercially successful in Belgium, which helped sustain the band’s career. A reissue briefly charted the UK top 100 in 1984.

  1. “Looking for Someone” 7:08
  2. “White Mountain” 6:46
  3. “Visions of Angels” 6:53
  4. “Stagnation” 8:51
  5. “Dusk” 4:15
  6. “The Knife” 9:00

Peter Gabriel – lead vocals, flute, accordion, tambourine, bass drum
Anthony Phillips – acoustic 12-string guitar, lead electric guitar, dulcimer, vocals
Anthony Banks – Hammond organ, piano, Mellotron, acoustic 12-string guitar, vocals
Michael Rutherford – acoustic 12-string guitar, electric bass guitar, nylon guitar, cello, vocals
John Mayhew – drums, percussion, vocals