Friday3/5/21 1am ET: Feature LP: Kylie Minogue – Fever (2002)

Fever is the eighth studio album by Australian singer Kylie Minogue. It was released on October 1, 2001 internationally by Parlophone and later launched in the United States on February 26, 2002 by Capitol Records. Minogue worked with writers and producers such as Cathy Dennis, Rob Davis, Richard Stannard, Julian Gallagher, TommyD, Tom Nichols, Pascal Gabriel and others to create a disco and Europop-influenced dance-pop album. Other musical influences of the album range from synth-pop to club music.

Upon its release, Fever received positive reviews from music critics, many of whom praised its production and commercial appeal. The album was a commercial success, peaking at number one in Australia, Austria, Germany, Ireland, and the UK. In the US, the album peaked at number three on the Billboard 200 chart, becoming Minogue’s biggest album in the country; it was certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). Fever was also certified seven-times platinum by the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA), and five-times platinum by the British Phonographic Industry (BPI). It won the International Album accolade at the 2002 Brit Awards ceremony.

Four singles were released from the album. The lead single, “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” was released in September 2001 and became a massive commercial success, peaking atop the charts of 40 countries and selling more than six million copies worldwide. The song, which is often recognised as Minogue’s signature song, is her highest-selling single and one of the best-selling singles of all time. Follow-up singles “In Your Eyes” and “Love at First Sight” also performed well on charts internationally. The last single “Come into My World” won the Grammy Award for Best Dance Recording in 2004. To promote the album, Minogue embarked on her seventh concert tour, the KylieFever2002 tour.

1. “More More More” 4:40
2. “Love at First Sight” 3:57
3. “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” 3:49
4. “Fever” 3:30
5. “Give It to Me” 2:48
6. “Fragile” 3:44
7. “Come into My World” 4:30
8. “In Your Eyes” 3:18
9. “Dancefloor” 3:23
10. “Love Affair” 3:47
11. “Your Love” 3:47
12. “Burning Up” 3:59

Kylie Minogue – lead vocals (all tracks); backing vocals (tracks 1–6, 8–12)
Ash Howes – programming (tracks 2, 8, 10); keyboards (track 2)
Alvin Sweeney – programming (tracks 2, 8, 10)
Martin Harrington – programming, guitars (tracks 2, 8); keyboards (track 2)
Julian Gallagher – Rhodes (track 2); keyboards (tracks 8, 10)
Rob Davis – keyboards, drum programming (tracks 3, 6, 7); electric guitar (track 3); guitars (tracks 6, 7)
Greg Fitzgerald – keyboards, programming, guitar (tracks 4, 12)
Phil Larsen – additional programming (track 6)
Bruce Elliott-Smith – additional programming (track 6)
Anders Kallmark – additional programming (track 6)
Cathy Dennis – additional keyboards (track 7); backing vocals (tracks 7, 9)
Steve Lewinson – bass (track 8)
Steve Anderson – arrangement, programming, keyboards (track 9)
John Thirkell – flute, trumpet (track 9)
Gavyn Wright – strings lead (track 9)
Richard “Biff” Stannard – guitars (track 10); backing vocals (tracks 2, 8, 10)
Billie Godfrey – backing vocals (track 4)
Nat’ B. – backing vocals (track 12)