Sunday 2/21/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Phil Collins – Face Value (1981)

Face Value is the debut solo studio album by English drummer and singer-songwriter Phil Collins, released on February 13, 1981 by Virgin Records in the UK and Atlantic Records in the US and abroad. After his first wife filed for divorce in 1979, Collins began to write songs during a break in activity from his band Genesis with much of the material concerning his personal life. The album was recorded from mid-1980 to early 1981 with Collins and Hugh Padgham as producers. Additional musicians include the Phenix Horns, Alphonso Johnson, and Eric Clapton.

Face Value was an instant commercial success and reached No. 1 on the UK Albums Chart for three weeks and No. 7 on the US Billboard 200. It has since sold over 5 million copies in the US and over 1.5 million in the UK. The album received widespread praise from critics. Its lead single “In the Air Tonight”, released in January 1981, reached No. 2 on the UK Singles Chart and became known for its drum arrangement and use of gated reverb. In January 2016, Face Value was reissued with bonus tracks and new photography in the style of the original but featuring a present-day Collins.

1. “In the Air Tonight” 5:34
2. “This Must Be Love” 3:55
3. “Behind the Lines” 3:53
4. “The Roof Is Leaking” 3:16
5. “Droned” 2:49
6. “Hand in Hand” 5:20
7. “I Missed Again” 3:41
8. “You Know What I Mean” 2:33
9. “Thunder and Lightning” 4:12
10. “I’m Not Moving” 2:33
11. “If Leaving Me Is Easy” 4:54
12. “Tomorrow Never Knows” 4:15
13. “Over the Rainbow” 0:37

1. “Misunderstanding” (live 2004) 4:42
2. “If Leaving Me Is Easy” (live 1985) 7:23
3. “In the Air Tonight” (live 1997) 7:51
4. “Behind the Lines” (live 1985) 3:39
5. “The Roof Is Leaking” (demo 1980) 3:12
6. “Hand in Hand” (live 1997) 9:47
7. “I Missed Again” (live 2004) 4:22
8. “…And So to F…” (live 1982) 6:22
9. “This Must Be Love” (demo 1980) 3:44
10. “Please Don’t Ask” (demo 1980) 4:01
11. “Misunderstanding” (demo 1980) 2:53
12. “Against All Odds” (demo 1980) 2:58

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.