Thursday 1am ET: Feature LP: Genesis – Calling All Stations (1997)

Calling All Stations is the fifteenth and most recent studio album by English rock band Genesis, released on September 1, 1997 by Virgin Records. After longtime drummer and lead vocalist Phil Collins left the group in 1996, the remaining members—founding keyboardist Tony Banks and guitarist/bassist Mike Rutherford—decided to continue and write new music for an album. After an auditioning process throughout 1996, they chose Scottish singer Ray Wilson as Genesis’s new lead singer.

Calling All Stations was released to mostly negative reviews from music critics who chastised its lack of direction, but praised Wilson’s performance. It sold poorly in comparison to their earlier albums; it reached No. 2 in the UK and performed well in Europe, but it peaked at No. 54 in the US. This marked their first not to crack the top 50 there since 1973. “Congo”, the first of three singles from the album, went to No. 29 in the UK. Genesis toured Europe in 1998 for the Calling All Stations Tour, but cancelled their planned US tour due to low ticket sales. The group disbanded at the European tour’s conclusion; Collins later returned to Genesis for the Turn It On Again Tour in 2006 and the upcoming The Last Domino? Tour in 2021.

1. “Calling All Stations” 5:43
2. “Congo” 4:51
3. “Shipwrecked” 4:23
4. “Alien Afternoon” 7:51
5. “Not About Us” 4:38
6. “If That’s What You Need” 5:12
7. “The Dividing Line” 7:45
8. “Uncertain Weather” 5:29
9. “Small Talk” 5:02
10. “There Must Be Some Other Way” 7:54
11. “One Man’s Fool” 8:58

Tony Banks – keyboards, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
Mike Rutherford – guitars, bass, backing vocals
Ray Wilson – lead vocals