Tuesday 2/16/21 12am ET: Feature LP: Styx – Equinox (1976)

Equinox is the fifth album by Styx, released in December 1975.

The album was the band’s first release for A&M Records (with whom they had signed earlier in 1975, after the late unexpected success of the 1973 single “Lady”).

The album also marked the final appearance of original Styx guitarist John Curulewski who left the band to spend time with his family, abruptly following the release of Equinox. The band went into a frantic search to find a replacement for their upcoming tour to support Equinox. Shortly thereafter, Tommy Shaw was approached and joined the band.

Although Equinox stalled at #58, it went Gold in 1977 shortly before the release of The Grand Illusion (1977) and it sold 350,000 copies when it was first released.

1. “Light Up” 4:17
2. “Lorelei” 3:19
3. “Mother Dear” 5:25
4. “Lonely Child” 3:47

1. “Midnight Ride” 4:17
2. “Born for Adventure” 5:12
3. “Prelude 12” 1:21
4. “Suite Madame Blue” 6:30

Dennis DeYoung – vocals, keyboards
James “JY” Young – vocals, electric guitars
John Curulewski – vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, keyboards
Chuck Panozzo – bass guitar, backing vocals on “Suite Madame Blue”
John Panozzo – drums, percussion