Friday 2/12/2021 10pm ET: Feature LP: Robert Palmer – Double Fun (1978)

Double Fun is the fourth solo album by Robert Palmer, released in 1978. Self-produced, this pop album is influenced by multiple genres including blue-eyed soul, disco and heavy rock but maintains an overall consistency of production which holds it all together. The album peaked at number 45 on the Billboard Pop Albums chart in 1978, his highest rank up to that point, and includes a top 20 hit, “Every Kinda People.”

The hit single from the album “Every Kinda People” was written by former Free bassist Andy Fraser. Fraser recorded his own version of the song which he never released but which Palmer heard. This album and the hit single paved the way for his next album Secrets which reached No. 19 on the Billboard charts and gave Palmer his biggest hit yet with the Moon Martin penned “Bad Case of Loving You (Doctor, Doctor)”.

The album cracked the Billboard Top 100 peaking at No. 45 thanks to the success of “Every Kinda People”, and two follow up singles continued to keep the album afloat on the charts. The last track “You’re Going To Get What’s Coming” penned by Palmer later became a hit single (reaching No. 73 on the Billboard Charts in 1980) for Bonnie Raitt and was featured on her 1979 album The Glow. Double Fun peaked at No. 10 in the Netherlands and No. 29 in New Zealand.

“Every Kinda People” – 3:17
“Best of Both Worlds” – 3:54
“Come Over” – 4:06
“Where Can It Go?” – 3:20
“Night People” – 4:12
“Love Can Run Faster” – 4:02
“You Overwhelm Me” – 3:05
“You Really Got Me” – 4:23
“You’re Gonna Get What’s Coming” – 4:29

Robert Palmer – vocals, guitar, percussion
Paul Barrère – guitar, backing vocals
Keith Errol Benson, Richie Hayward, Chris Parker – drums
Harry Bluestone – concertmaster
Michael Brecker – saxophone
Randy Brecker – trumpet
Pierre Brock, Jimmy Williams, Bob Babbitt – bass guitar
Lenny Castro, Robert Greenidge – percussion
Gene Davis – string arrangements
John Davis – string arrangements
Freddie Harris, Neil Hubbard, James Mahoney, Donovan McKitty, T.J. Tindall – guitar
Ron Kersey, Edward Putmon, Steve Robbins, James Allen Smith, Louis John Davis – keyboards
Bill Payne – keyboards, backing vocals
Don Renaldo – concertmaster
Brenda Russell – backing vocals
Brian Russell – backing vocals
Allan Schwartzberg – percussion, drums