Monday 1/25/2021 10pm ET: Feature LP: Eric Clapton – Slowhand (1977)

Slowhand is the fifth full-length studio album by Eric Clapton. Released on November 25, 1977 by RSO Records, and titled after Clapton’s nickname, it is one of his most commercially and critically successful studio albums. Slowhand produced the two hit singles “Lay Down Sally” and “Wonderful Tonight”, reached various international music charts and was honoured with numerous awards and recording certifications. In 2012, a deluxe edition was released to celebrate the album’s 35th anniversary.

In November 2012, a remastered two-compact-disc 35th anniversary deluxe edition of Slowhand was released. The first disc consists of the remastered album, with additional bonus tracks and studio jam sessions. The second disc features a previously unreleased live concert, recorded in April 1977 at the Hammersmith Odeon; although the concert is of the same era as the Slowhand sessions, it was performed prior to the album’s recording and release, and so does not include any of the album’s tracks.

1. “Cocaine” 3:38
2. “Wonderful Tonight” 3:44
3. “Lay Down Sally” 3:56
4. “Next Time You See Her” 4:01
5. “We’re All the Way” 2:32
6. “The Core” 8:45
7. “May You Never” 3:01
8. “Mean Old Frisco” 4:42
9. “Peaches and Diesel” 4:46
10. “Looking at the Rain” 3:41
11. “Alberta” Traditional 2:43
12. “Greyhound Bus” 2:58
13. “Stars, Strays and Ashtrays” 4:38

1. “Tell the Truth” 9:00
2. “Knocking on Heaven’s Door” 5:17
3. “Steady Rollin’ Man” 6:54
4. “Can’t Find My Way Home” 6:05
5. “Further on Up the Road” 6:33
6. “Stormy Monday” 12:39
7. “Badge” 8:01
8. “I Shot the Sheriff” 14:02
9. “Layla” 6:11

Eric Clapton – lead vocals, guitar
George Terry – guitar
Dick Sims – keyboards
Carl Radle – bass guitar
Jamie Oldaker – drums, percussion
Mel Collins – saxophone
Yvonne Elliman – harmony and backing vocals
Marcy Levy – harmony and backing vocals, duet on “The Core”